News: Welcome back to Bullworth! If you haven't already, you will need to reset your password..


Author Topic: Cutscene Player  (Read 284 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline SimonBestia

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 229
  • Gender: Male
  • Bully-Board's Best Weeb
    • View Profile
    • Youtube Channel
Cutscene Player
« on: April 18, 2021, 08:28:18 AM »
Something like this already exists, but I decided to make a more modern one.
It is compatible with the PlayStation 2*, Xbox 360, and PC versions.

*By default, PS2 mode is disabled, but the mod will still work.
If enabled, it uncaps the framerate and adds warnings for SE-exclusive and 1-01 cutscenes.
I've included different Scripts.img/dir with it already enabled.

Features:
  • Optional compatibility with Derpy54320's NoClip mod. More info in the source code.
  • Ability to temporarily switch to Chapter 3 for cutscenes meant for that Chapter.

In-game usage:
It's a simple menu you can navigate with the D-pad.

Screenshots:




Current issues:
  • Some cutscenes should have exclusive props. I don't know how to spawn them, though.

Download (and source):
https://github.com/SimonBestia/Cutscene-Player/releases

Special thanks:
To deadpoolXYZ for sharing the cutscene table.
To Altamurenza for sharing his knowledge on unused cutscenes.
« Last Edit: April 20, 2021, 04:17:19 AM by SimonBestia »

Offline Razc01na

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 63
  • Gender: Male
  • You misunderstand the situation...
    • View Profile
Re: Cutscene Player
« Reply #1 on: April 18, 2021, 04:18:03 PM »
So... if we have the noclip mod we can use it during the cutscenes?

Offline SimonBestia

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 229
  • Gender: Male
  • Bully-Board's Best Weeb
    • View Profile
    • Youtube Channel
Re: Cutscene Player
« Reply #2 on: April 18, 2021, 04:43:11 PM »
Yes, as long as its script is called NoClip.lur.

Offline Razc01na

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 63
  • Gender: Male
  • You misunderstand the situation...
    • View Profile
Re: Cutscene Player
« Reply #3 on: April 18, 2021, 06:18:31 PM »
I see... the script is executed from the beginning.

I have a question: what happens if we try to execute a script with that function but the file name given is not found? Does the function return nil or something?

Offline SimonBestia

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 229
  • Gender: Male
  • Bully-Board's Best Weeb
    • View Profile
    • Youtube Channel
Re: Cutscene Player
« Reply #4 on: April 19, 2021, 02:40:37 AM »
The game will just not load the script because it can't find it, but it will keep working fine.

On PCSX2, the console even prints some debug text.

Offline Razc01na

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 63
  • Gender: Male
  • You misunderstand the situation...
    • View Profile
Re: Cutscene Player
« Reply #5 on: April 19, 2021, 10:03:28 AM »
Ok...

Thanks for the answer  :D

It's a very good mod by the way  ;D

Online Altamurenza

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 34
  • Gender: Male
  • lack of source, lack of innovation.
    • View Profile
Re: Cutscene Player
« Reply #6 on: April 19, 2021, 01:58:34 PM »
I have some suggestion if you're thinking to update the mod. I tested the mod and it seems that we're unable to play CS_COUNTER and FX-TEST cutscene at the current version where actually you can manage them to work. Instead of using PlayCutsceneWithLoad, you can alternatively start cutscene by building it up and execute them manually.

There are four principal function to play cutscenes manually, they are LoadCutscene, CutSceneSetActionNode, LoadCutsceneSound, and StartCutscene. Since CS_COUNTER and FX-TEST audio files were missing, the LoadCutsceneSound will stuck trying to find the specified name but it doesn't exist in the game files.

To prevent that, you should replace the audio name with others and put StartCutscene function to play.

Code: [Select]
LoadCutscene("CS_COUNTER")
CutSceneSetActionNode("CS_COUNTER")
LoadCutsceneSound("1-01") -- i put 1_01 audio instead

repeat
  Wait(0)
until IsCutsceneLoaded()

StartCutscene()

In the end, after you seeing enough of it you can end the cutscene via StopCutscene.

Code: [Select]
repeat
  Wait(0)
until IsButtonBeingPressed(7, 0)

StopCutscene()
« Last Edit: April 19, 2021, 02:03:39 PM by Altamurenza »

Offline SimonBestia

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 229
  • Gender: Male
  • Bully-Board's Best Weeb
    • View Profile
    • Youtube Channel
Re: Cutscene Player
« Reply #7 on: April 20, 2021, 04:15:52 AM »
That's awesome!
Always tried to do something about those unused cutscenes, but never figured it out.

The code allows for even more cutscenes to be played, too, not just CS_Counter and FX_Test.

Updated the mod.
Thanks, again!

(Now I can include them on TCRF, too!)